Quote of the Day: “Go about your business”

“I think that if you’re creative person, you should just go about your business, do your work and not care about how it’s received. “I never read reviews because if you believe the good ones you have to believe the bad ones too.

“Not that I don’t care about success. I do, but only because it lets me do what I want. I was always prepared for success but that means that I have to be prepared for failure too. I have an ego, I have ideas, I want to be articulate, to communicate but in my own way.

“People who say they create only for themselves and don’t care if they are published… I hate to hear talk like that. If it’s good, it’s too good not to share. That’s the way I feel about my work.

“So I’ll keep on communicating, but only my way. Lots of things I won’t do. I won’t go on television because who am I talking to? Johnny Carson? The camera? Twenty million people I can’t see? Uh-uh. And I won’t give any more interviews.”

—Shel Silverstein

This entry was posted in Inspiration, Quotations and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

